What is the best thing to drink on a hot summer day?

The information given in this board is non medical and based on research and peoples personal experience.

Post by Guest »

OK I'd just like to say, I work as a postie in the UK and walking 5-6 hours with weight in these temps we are having, I'm sick of hearing how we are snowflakes for not being able to cope in this heat.

I come in from work most days either vomiting or feeling sick with a headache.

Trying to take enough water to stay hydrated, with little to no toilet stops. Then to do it again the next day. It takes from A WEEK TO 2 WEEKS for a healthy person to acclimatise, can be longer if u get heat stroke, We are walking 5-6 hours a day of course we are going to be drained.

So please have a little compassion. Thanks to all who offer us drinks it really helps. The same goes for anyone working outdoors in this heat.
Louisa

Post by Louisa »

My husband is a tree surgeon and has come home and been sick at night too. It's awful, the chainsaw trousers protective gear plus heavy chainsaws. And people are still rude, and asking for extras not in the quotes. And getting moody about everything. I feel sorry for them all , builders scaffolding, postie etc etc.
Bev

Post by Bev »

I saw my postman getting near my house the other day and ran in to get him a cold can of pop from the fridge. He couldn't thank me enough and said he didn't know whether to drink it or pour it on him, so he's stuck it in his shirt whilst I was talking to him
Tamsin

Post by Tamsin »

I’m shocked that people are complaining about posties! I wouldn’t like to do your job in this heat.

EVERYONE working in this heat is having a tough time, and it must be awful for those of you outside and/or having to wear heavy duty clothing. I’m grateful to be off work for the school holidays.
Maria

Post by Maria »