What advice would you give a new writer?

A supportive board for writers at all levels to discuss writing topics, debate burning issues related to publishing, To publicise your novel. And to seek support of every kind in helping you to become a better writer.

Post by Guest »

Hi everyone! I'm new to writing and would really love to make it a career! does anyone have any advice ?
being a writer

Post by being a writer »

— First I'd consider what "being a writer" means to you. For some people, that means Traditional Publishing, full stop. Others prefer self-publishing, while others don't care either way. There's a great group called 20booksto50k which focuses on self-pub as a career while Subit Club can help once you are ready to start looking for an agent if you prefer to go the Traditional route.

While I think it's important to decide what sort of publishing goal you have first, you will need to focus on getting better at writing before you make steps toward either route. Once you get some writing done, I'd highly recommend finding a critique group. Getting feedback and even giving feedback is one of the best ways to grow as a writer.

— Read great literature. That’s your classroom.

— Yes, find a job or profession you like and write on the side. Get into something like web designing (that's writing), computer programming (that's writing), or editing people's writing.

The average "full time" writer makes under 10K a year. The only way you make money is if a major studio buys the rights to one of your stories. Then you're on easy street. Minimum of $500,000 less agent fees.

Very few writers reach the status of Stephen King, James Patterson, J.K. Rowling. And when you do, you're in a 7 year contract and owe 5 to 7 books.