I am concerned about travellers diarrhoea

Welcome to our Travel Community, where travelers from all over the world come together to share experiences, ask for advice, and connect with others far and wide!

Post by Guest »

Hi again,

One of the things I am excited to experience during my travels is the food. However, I am concerned about travellers diarrhoea or general tummy trouble so I was wondering if anyone could offer some tips on how to prevent this or make it easier to deal with should it happen.

Thanks!
Chelsea

Post by Chelsea »

Not the healthiest option but have a coke before your meal - it works a charm every time. You can also get chewable tablets called colostrum, chew one or two before your meal. I was in Asia for 3 months, chewing these every time before a meal on the advice of others and never got sick. (I wasn't particularly picky about where or what I ate.) I've been travelling full time for 3 years since (unfortunately I've long run out of colostrum) and I always have a small can of coke before a meal in countries where the food is upsetting my stomach, and it's stopped it from happening every time. (This was advice that came from someone who travelled India for months using this method and never got sick - a weird one, but so far it's never let me down.)
Chris

Post by Chris »

Years ago when i was there a thai told me to eat bananas and it helped. Me and the mrs was there this year she had the same so i got he some bananas and it seemed to work for her too
Beniamin

Post by Beniamin »

General rule I follow is not to drink fresh tap water, only boiled hot water or bottled water that will keep you away from many problems. Also dont rinse or clean fruits in tap water.
Andrew

Post by Andrew »

I met an American Doctor that was also a Doctor of Chinese medicine….he told me that if you get the runs it was best to stay away from fruits and eat cheese or milk instead.I did that after and found it worked to stop it quickly
Jay

Post by Jay »